Aspall is a tiny hamlet just north of the small market town of Debenham in mid-Suffolk.
One of the smallest parishes in England; a natural place for a settlement being on top of a hill. At the time of Edward the Confessor, Aspall was one of five high moated houses in the area owned by the same family. It was also one of only two sites in England that held a “Fayre by Royal Decree”. The name Aspall is derived from the Saxon word ‘halh’ meaning a bend in the river or between two rivers. The aspen tree was prominent and over time the two words to describe the area Aspen Halh became amalgamated to the single word 'Aspall'. The pretty 15th century church of Our Lady of Grace lies in the bottom of the valley. Clement’s tomb is by the front door of the church, but the rest of the Chevallier family graves are in the corner of the churchyard; a churchyard that also boasts the grave of the famous 1940s and 50s film director, Emeric Pressburger, who lived out his last days in Aspall. The school next to Aspall church was first built in 1854 and extended in 1885 in memory of the Rev. Canon Charles Henry Chevallier.